Last Updated On:

Understanding Child Development Stages

Every individual had to go through growth and development at some point in their lives. It is not possible to just grow up and know what you know now – there are stages one had to go through to be who they are today. Child development stages are essential to the growth, progress and advancement as an individual goes through life.

Child development stages are inevitable and improving as youngsters go through life.

child development stages

Image From Pan Xiaozhen

Child development stages start from the moment they are born until their later years. These development stages are everything they are, everything they do, everything they learn and whatnot.

How infants and toddlers respond to external stimulus is part of their learning and education for their age. Babbling, crawling and chewing are also included in child development stages.

It is important that the development stages of children happen as they must, following the timeline. Should their be lapse in these stages, there are tendencies that the child may be affected. The results may be seen in later years of their lives.

A baby must go through their development according to their development stages. Should they skip a stage or a factor that is included in their progress, they may be affected through their decision-making, their personalities and character or their coping mechanisms. There are plenty of factors that will be affected by how they develop through their ages and stages as children.

Every stage of the child’s development will be beneficial to all aspects of their growth; physical and mental development, emotional and social developments. As a child grows up and learns, they start to develop skills and master them.

Take for example, the child development stages is like counting – one, two, three. The stages of development are important, because in counting – you can’t skip four to get to five. It has to be in sequence and one number after another in proper order. So it goes like, “one, two, three, four, five.”

What Are the Child Development Stages?

According to Jean Piaget’s studies, there are four main development stages. These stages include every skill children can develop; their mental capacity to respond to stimulus, their psychological personalities, their intelligence and judgement and decision-making.

These stages of development is acknowledged by Piaget herself – that children may develop some skills later than others, at the same time or not at all. But, in this series, these are the most probably progress for each child. If a child misses out on a stage, a child may find difficulty in learning the next supposed development.

The four main child development stages are;

  • Sensorimotor
    This stage of development is, basically, building how they react to their surroundings, to people and to circumstances. They learn how the world around them works. They learn what is and how things are. It’s like building the basics; walking before running or shaking an object to get a response or result.
  • Preoperational
    This is a child development stage that introduces the projection of skills the child has learned throughout the years. Here, they can handle things on their own and start to process everything mentally, psychologically and intellectually. It is shown how they can be curious, and how they can handle their learning in a way they decide for themselves.
  • Concrete Operational
    Child development stages are important in this point in the life of an individual. Here, they have a broader knowledge of the world around them. They respond more logically and give a better judgment of the decisions they have to make at this point.
  • Formal Operational
    The child – at this point is a teenager. They have better knowledge and intellect of the world around them. They make better decisions and judgment than when they were in the earlier years. They also tackle more detailed lessons and can multitask in different areas as far as their mastery of the skills is concerned.

Why Is It Important To Understand Child Development Stages?

Learning the child development stages is important for your child, and this is a very significant role, as parents, to take on – making sure your child gets the best support as they grow up and go through development.

It is important to understand that learning the child development stages is like the educational school levels. In order to surpass Primary 1, the courses must be completed to proceed to Primary 2. If a child is accelerated to Primary 2 without going through Primary 1, there could be some lapses in their learning habits and processes that was crucial for their academics in Primary 2 or even Primary 3 and 4.

Tips For Parents To Implement Proper Child Development Stages

It is important to assure the progress and improvement of your children in relation to the child development stages as parents.

Here are some tips and tricks to get ideas from;

  • Interact with your child often with new games and learning tools. If they are infants and toddlers, you can do this to see where their area of interests lie. It is also a good way of forming a strong bond with your child.
  • Test what they have learned in simple interactions. Ask them to do something or identify certain objects to see how far they have come with their learning. Keep it simple at first, and then gradually advance later.
  • Let their curiosity grow. Curiosity is one way to help them improve their imagination and strengthen their creativity. In child development stages, it is important that they learn the skill of curiosity to fuel the later creativity.
  • Do not shape their minds set to a single idea. Give them the freedom to create their own will and independence when it comes to their thinking. But, guide them, and help them understand the things about themselves and the things around them.

Stay tuned to our posts as we go deeper into the child development stages!